• Conformation events are the signature events of the AKC. They concentrate on the distinctive features of purebred dogs and help to preserve these characteristics by providing a forum at which to evaluate breeding stock. Exhibits are judged against individual breed standards, which have been established for the AKC-recognized breeds by their parent clubs. These written standards describe the ideal size, color and temperament of each breed, as well as correct proportion, structure and movement.
  • The first focus of ATCA in its early days was defining and promoting true type. The breed was new and the standard open to broad interpretation, so options ran the gamut on what constituted a “good” Airedale. In the interest of defining type, the club supported the Airedale entry at leading dog shows of the day, offering special prizes, cups and medals. A competitive spirit soon arose and the club launched its own specialty show in Philadelphia in 1908. In 1911, the club moved its specialty to New York, holding it each February at various hotels, even in enclosed rooftop gardens and armories, except during the war years (1918 and 1943-1946) and the depression (1928). The club’s annual meetings and get togethers to discuss the breed were also held at the Warwick Hotel in NY City each February.
  • In 1968 the winter specialty was moved back to Philadelphia to be held in conjunction with the all-terrier Montgomery County Kennel Club show continues to be the ATCA’s national specialty and the weekend for the Club’s annual meeting and get together for breeders and enthusiasts. This is a time to evaluate breeding stock and look at the quality within our great breed.
  • Floating specialty shows came into being in 1920, when the ATCA began sponsoring specialty shows hosted by local Airedale clubs. The first “floater” was hosted by the New England Airedale Terrier Club in Boston that year and the second was held in Louisville, Kentucky the following year.
  • The Airedale Bowl, a magnificent sterling silver trophy is awarded to the breed winner at each national and floating specialty. It was first placed into competition in 1910.
  • View A List of 100 Years of Airedale Bowl Winners (1910 – 2011)
  • Airedale Bowl Winners 2012 to present.
  • As the years have passed more trophies have become part of the history of conformation of the ATCA. Along with the Airedale Bowl, the following trophies are awarded annually at the ATCA National Specialty. These include: The Barclay Memorial Trophy, the Willinez Defiance Trophy, Florsheim Trophy, William L. Barclay Memorial Trophy, Ethel Braxton Memorial Trophy, Briarcroft Perfection Trophy, Reffal Memorial Trophy, James M. McLynn Memorial Trophy, Bob LaRouche Memorial Trophy, and the David Leahy Memorial Trophy.
  • For more specifics on the Annual Specialty show, floaters and regional specialties, go Calendar of events and contacts.

Congratulations to all of our 2023 Minnesota Floating Specialty winners:

Regular Classes:  Judge:  Anne M. Barlow.  Best of Breed:  GCHS CH Timberwyck the Rock RATO, O-Heather Roozee & Susan Kuhn; Best of Winners, Winners Bitch and Best Bred-By- Exhibitor:  Huntwood’s Dream Performance at Roc Haven, O-Susan A. Depew & Christine Vitosh; Best of Opposite Sex:  GCH Bryndale Penaire Never Late to the Party, O-Anna and Craig Brinker & Joan Clarke; Select Dog:  CH Monterra Zen Master, O-Judy Howell & Patricia Kelley; Select Bitch:  GCH Terrorific I Put a Spell on You, O-Christine Pierson & Deirdre Dawson; Award of Merit:  CH Terrorific I’ll Take a Shot, O-Beryl Patterson & Deirdre Dawson; Award of Merit:  GCH CH Epoch’s On the Edge of Time, O-Doug and Aletta Moore; Winners Dog:  Kairk’s National Treasure, O-Devon Allen & Ron Jones; Reserve Winners Dog:  Airelines Talk to Me Goose, O-Bryce Erban; Reserve Winners Bitch:  Roc Haven All My Love, O-Christine Vitosh & Constance Versagi;Brood Bitch:  Chaizma’s Bewitching Vixen, O-Margaret Anne Sinex;

Sweepstakes:  Judge:  Jean Surfus. Best in Sweepstakes and Best Junior in Swps:  Kairk’s National Treasure,  O-Devon Allen & Ron Jones; Best Puppy in Swps:  Shawndee Ultra Focus.  O-Caroline Robson, Victoria Barker and Simone Rudolph;

Obedience:  Judge:  Karen J. Anderson (Note:  There were no Rally Entries). Highest Scoring Dog in Regular Classes:  Pipestone’s Fine Tanned Leather UD VER SHA JHR, O-Anita Smits & Scott Lichty; High Combined Score, Open B and Utility:  Fyrebrick Space Oddity Explores VCD2 UD AX AXJ, O-Mary E. Barker.








Website maintained by Dan Dupre